CYBA Young Artist Contest winners

By Tamara Walker
The Cooper-Young Business Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2010 Young Artist Contest. This post-Festival event is held annually to encourage the love of art in school age children. The CYBA received 290 entries for the contest which had a theme of “Communities Coming Together.” A reception for winners and participants was held at Peabody Elementary on Thursday, November 4.
This free contest is open to children from all over Memphis and the surrounding communities, grades 1-12, and is sponsored by Lenny’s Sub Shop. Contestants compete against students in one of three grade level divisions: grades 1-4, grades 5-8, and grades 9-12. Prizes are awarded in each division in the following categories: $500 first place, $100 second place, $75 third place, and $50 honorable mention. These scholarship bonds were presented to all contest winners on the evening of the reception, where the whole community was invited to view the art and meet the winners.

This year’s talented winners are:
Grades 1st – 4th
First Place – Amelia Brittain, Grahamwood Elementary
Second Place – Zaylen Maclin, Westhaven Elementary
Third Place – Diamone Coleman, Westhaven Elementary
Honorable Mention – Samhitha Tirumalasetti, Grahamwood Elementary

Grades 5th – 8th
First Place – Camille Curtis, Colonial Middle School
Second Place – Emma Brick-Hezeau, Grahamwood Elementary
Third Place – Kristian Taylor, Colonial Middle School
Honorable Mention – Kaylun Webster, Peabody Elementary
Honorable Mention – Juan Marin, Colonial Middle School

Grade 9th – 12th
First Place – Jarvis Howard, Kingsbury Career Technology Center
Second Place – Michael Wilkins, Wooddale High School
Third Place – Taylor Mitchell, White Station High School
Honorable Mention – Kelsey Lawrence, White Station High School


Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>