Two volunteers share Alexia Hampton Award for 2011

By June Hurt

Every year, the CYCA Board of Directors has the difficult task of choosing an individual or a couple who has gone above and beyond in their role as volunteers in our community to be awarded the Alexia Hampton Award. Although we were blessed with a number of great volunteers in 2011, this year, the decision was an easy one for us, yet required breaking with tradition a bit.

I was honored to present Chris McHaney and Debbie Sowell with the award at the CYCA Holiday Volunteer Party on Dec. 13. Chris and Debbie are long-time volunteers who always seem to be the first to arrive to set up and the last to leave after an event.

Chris has been the LampLighter billing manager for a number of years and has served on numerous committees. He really saved the day in helping with race preparations this year and always seemed to be available to help our community director at the office on various projects throughout the year. Debbie is a past CYCA president and also serves on numerous committees, but her title as the building committee chair placed the majority of the building management responsibility on her shoulders. Traditionally this award is not given to present CYCA board members, but the fact that Debbie, sometimes with Chris’ help, was willing to act as our leasing agent, property manager and general contractor for our recently purchased building made her a logical nominee along with her husband.

Through a series of sneaky emails, I’m pleased to say, our present board managed to convince Debbie that Chris was our only award winner and we loved surprising her along with her husband at the CYCA Holiday Volunteer Party.

Author: LampLighter

The voice of Cooper-Young, a vibrant, diverse neighborhood to live, work and play, in the heart of Midtown Memphis, Tennessee.

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>